Actual 45 mm size by Huguenin, Le Locle
Swiss traditional alpine huntsman doing a pleasant sprightly wander down the most beautiful scenic and celebrated trails of great olden massif Titlis, across furthermost in distance lay Uri Alps of summit Hahne, and Engelberger Rostock berg, silent witnesses across the surely passing of many an ages.
His right hand withholding trusty trekking pole, aid assist for the prepared long expedition, sling across his handsome Perkussionsstutzer rifle, prized gratification of every sharpshooter, and most preferred celebrated bestow of champions of honor at the national shot compete.
Extending his hat well forward in gratifying esteemed pride, a salute onwards, to yonder picturesque quaint village resort, famed since of its Alpine character. Her name-stake, Engelberg represents “Mountain of Angels”, stems from ancient venerable Benedictine Abbey founded 1198 standing in the distance, well renowned during the middles ages for its most esteemed education quality.
The Holy Cross Chapel, distinct clear spire in the distance, and the mansion (Herrenhaus) in Grafenort, heritage of many olden yester years of birth, this renowned village.
"O! Mein Heimatiand - O! My Home Country"
Depicts Cross eminent rays stylized under the radiance diverge in all directions allegory of the Confederacy and virtues of free liberties and everlasting brotherhood union of the cantons.
Upon laurels of beautiy, Alpenrose flora flowers, found of local regions, gently inclined resting the eminent Angel blazon arms of the resort village Engelberg.
In-repose, within the banner folds of pike-standards, belonging to the canton Obwalden, embraces the contest shot, the sharpshooters’ choice Perkussionsstutzer rifle, award bestow to the grandest champions of the shot.
The municipality of Engelberg is an exclave of Obwalden, surrounded by the cantons of Bern, Nidwalden and Uri. Engelberg is a major mountain resort in Central Switzerland.
In the Middle Ages, Engelberg was known for the educational quality of its Benedictine monastery, Engelberg Abbey. Engelberg is first mentioned as Engilperc in 1122, when the Abbey was first founded there. From 1850, Engelberg became an international vacation resort (mineral water, milk serum and fresh air cures). From 1872 to 1874, a new, wider road was built, and the Stansstad-Engelberg electric railway was opened in 1898.
Hiking and other mountain sports developed at the end of the 19th century and Engelberg first held a winter season in 1903-1904. From the 19th Century onwards Engelberg became internationally known as a mountain resort, but it is today visited as much for skiing as for its Alpine character.
With its combination of modern snow and sports facilities and alpine location, Engelberg is popular today for both summer and winter tourism.
Engelberg is also home to three sites that are Swiss heritage sites of national significance. Besides the Engelberg Abbey with its library, archives and music collection, the other two are the mansion (Herrenhaus) in Grafenort and the Holy Cross chapel in Grafenort.
Celebrating the picturesque renowned beauty of the world-class skiing resort village of Engelberg, its famous olden heritage hiking trails and scenic alpine landscape.